Who was the real “Uncle Sam”?


I got this from a Care2 newsletter, they always have groovy trivia to share around the holidays.

- In 1812, Samuel Wilson was a meat packer providing meat to the United States Army. The meat shipments were stamped with the initials “US”, leading to the joke that the initials stood for “Uncle Sam”. This eventually led to the idea of Uncle Sam representing the United States government.

- The word “patriotism” comes from the Latin “patria”, meaning homeland or fatherland.

- Three American presidents died on Independence Day. John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson died on the same day in 1826 and James Monroe died in 1831.

Source: http://www.care2.com

Energetically, Diane Tegarden

28 responses to “Who was the real “Uncle Sam”?

  1. Well written, interesting topic matter. I actually enjoyed reading it!

  2. This is one extremely fascinating post. I like the way you write and I will bookmark your blog to my favorites.

  3. Hi! Fantastic post! Please do tell us when I will see a follow up! 759989

  4. Have read a couple of of the articles on your web site now, and I truly like your style of blogging. I added it to my favorites blog web site list and will probably be checking back soon.

  5. Hey very good internet site, I’ll definately come back again!

  6. really good publish, i undoubtedly enjoy this internet web site, carry on!

  7. I really like your writing style, good information, appreciate you for posting it! : D

  8. you write a great blog here! do you wish to have the invite posts in my small blog?

  9. Hiya! Great blog! I happen to be an every day visitor to your website (somewhat much more like addict). Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for much more!

  10. I think you did an awesome job explaining it. Sure beats having to research it on my own. Thanks!

  11. Deference to you, some superb selective data.

  12. Several thanks for the wonderful post, I enjoyed reading it!

  13. I gotta “favorite” this web site, it’s really beneficial.

  14. You should participate in a contest for one of the greatest blogs on the web. I will definitely recommend this website!

  15. Do you mind if I link to this post from my own web site? This really is just too awesome.

  16. You seem to be very skilled in the way you write.

  17. Wohh, exactly what I was searching for, regards for posting.

  18. It is difficult to get knowledgeable men and women to write on this subject. Thanks for the post!

  19. Nice and informative post, your every post is worth something.

  20. Perfect, just what I was looking for!

  21. I was really delighted to find this internet site on Bing, just what I was searching for too. : D Have saved to favs.

  22. Your weblog is among the far better blogs I’ve came across in months. Thank you for your posts, I’m looking forward to reading new entries!

Leave a Reply

