Word for the Day…surrounded by my furfamily


This is one of my personal favs. Quite often while I’m laying on the sofa watching TV, the kitties will pile onto my feet and tummy, leaving me immobile and I’ll ask my hubby to hand me something from the kitchen because I’m “ensconced in cats”.

ensconce (transitive verb) [en-SKONS]

1. to fix firmly

Used in a sentence: “Kevin would ensconce himself on the living room couch for weeks whenever new editions of his favorite video games were released.”

Quote from Shakespeare:
“…and yet you, rogue, will ensconce your rags, your cat-a-mountain looks, your red-lattice phrases, and your bold-beating oaths, under the shelter of your honour!”

By William Shakespeare (1564-1616) from “The Merry Wives of Windsor” (1602).

Etymology: From approximately 1590; from ‘en-‘ (to put in) + ‘sconce’ (small fortification); probably from the Dutch, ‘schans’: earthwork.

3 thoughts on “Word for the Day…surrounded by my furfamily

Leave a Reply

