Word for the day…Happy Yom Kippur!


In honor or Yom Kippur and my Jewish friends, I thought I’d post a Yiddish word today…schlep, which has one definition which was a surprise to me!

schlep
(transitive verb) to drag or carry someone or something. (From German schleppen via Yiddish.) : Am I supposed to schlep this whole thing all the way back to the store?

(noun) 1. a journey; a distance to travel or carry something. : It takes about twenty minutes to make the schlep from here to there.

2. a stupid person; a bothersome person. (Literally, a drag.) : Ask that schlep to wait in the hall until I am free. I’ll sneak out the back way. (This one was the surprise!)

Etymology: Yiddish shlepn, to drag, pull, from Middle Low German slpen; see lei- in Indo-European roots
Dictionary of American Slang and Colloquial Expressions by Richard A. Spears. Fourth Edition.
The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2009.
2 thoughts on “Word for the day…Happy Yom Kippur!

  1. Hey There. I found your blog through msn. That is a very neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

    Like

Leave a Reply

