Some people just won’t take “NO” for an answer!


Some people just won’t take “No” for an answer!!

I just had the strangest thing happen to me. I was leaving a professional building dressed in business attire, walking along with a smile on my face and basically minding my own business. A young man (probably between 25- 30) complimented me, saying “you look very nice in that black suit this morning”. Hold on, that’s not the weird part.

I replied “thank you” and smiled, but continued to walk on.

“Are you looking for a boyfriend?” he asked.

“Oh, no, I’m married.”

“A black boyfriend?” he persisted.

“No. I’m happily married, but thank you for asking!”

I was surprised at his persistence; he was obviously much younger than I am, is good-looking and seems in good health. I’m beginning to wonder at this point why on earth he would want to pick up on me? I’m dressed fairly conservatively, and obviously haven’t skipped any meals lately, could he be looking for a sugar mama?

He had on a Lakers T-shirt, so in an effort to distract him from his current line of questioning, I asked him what he thought about the Lakers rejecting Phil Jackson as their new head coach, instead, choosing Mike D’Antoni.

He started explaining what he thought had happened, and why their new choice was a good match for the current Lakers lineup, which seemed to derail his attempt to pick up on me. I was floored when he claimed “I’m not racist, but all white people go for the money. That’s why they didn’t choose Phil Jackson, he wanted too much money”.

Wow, I wonder what he’d have thought if I came out with a comment like “I’m not racist, but all black people (fill in the blank here)”!!! I mean, the very definition of racism is making a sweeping generalization about an entire group of people, and that’s exactly what he did. He didn’t even seem to realize it.

I thanked him for his take on the Lakers, and started moving off down the sidewalk.

He flipped open his cell phone and said “just let me get your cell number”.

I shook my head, smiled and kept on walking. Some people just won’t take “No” for an answer!!

8 thoughts on “Some people just won’t take “NO” for an answer!

  1. Now let me think here…white sugar mama, racism, youthful ignorance, learned behavior(racism) and oh yeah “hot white chick, let me get yo number, know what I’m sayin’?” It is a sad commentary and maybe even a missed learning op for Mr. Tiwisted Value System. I probably would have taught him a thing or two about his behavior but then again I am nuts.

    Like

    1. Marsha, he wasn’t trying to be evil, it was all quite innocent. In a way, it was a compliment, and he did finally back off and let me walk by peacefully. This morning I told Wade all about it and we had a good laugh over it. I don’t think the young man was trying to be disrespectful, he probably thought it was an ego boost for me- or something. I did think it was sad that he didn’t realize he showed his own racism, but he is young, he has time to unlearn it (I hope!)

      And, you are most decidedly not nuts, you are wise, and kind!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

