The Mothers of Invention- not just another rock band


rocketFrank Zappa may have named his rock band “The Mothers of Invention” but the original phrase “Necessity is the Mother of Invention” was first printed in 1658 in  Richard Franck’s ‘Northern Memoirs, calculated for the meridian of Scotland‘. The frontispiece of the reprint states that the original was “writ in the year 1658“. It contains this: “Art imitates Nature, and Necessity is the Mother of Invention.”  The phrase denotes that difficult situations inspire ingenious solutions.

Source cited- www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/necessity-is-the-mother-of-invention.html

 

 

12 thoughts on “The Mothers of Invention- not just another rock band

  1. After checking out a number of the articles on your site, I really appreciate your way of writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

  2. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Like

  3. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find many of your posts to be just what we’re looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome weblog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

