Word for the day….The Color Purple (And I’m not talking about the movie!)


I found these two beauties on Word Dynamo, a favorite word website. This test was about various cool names for colors, and as purple is my favorite color, I thought I’d share a couple. First, solferino is a vivid purplish pink.

Also, aubergine is the name for a very dark purple. Curiously enough, the etymology of the word explains it all…[French, from Catalan albergina, from Arabic al-binjn (the eggplant), from Persian bdenjn, bdengn.]

Feel free to share your recent word treasures on this thread!

4 thoughts on “Word for the day….The Color Purple (And I’m not talking about the movie!)

  1. Urdu as spoken in Pakistan and some Indian states, and Hindi as spoken in India, other than using a different script, are often very similar. Generally Modern Standard Hindi incorporates vocabulary of Persian and Arabic origin found in Urdu, while Urdu has not been known to incorporate much of the vocabulary of Sanskrit origin found in Hindi.

    Like

  2. I found these two beauties on Word Dynamo, a favorite word website. This test was about various cool names for colors, and as purple is my favorite color, I thought I’d share a couple. First, solferino is a vivid purplish pink.

    Like

Leave a Reply

