Quote for the day…..by Sydney Smith


Diane with wild kitty at Zaanse Schanse“It is the greatest of all mistakes to do nothing because you can only do a little. Do what you can.”- Sydney Smith

 

On our European vacation to The Netherlands we went to this charming Dutch village named Zaanse Schanse. I saw a wild kitty roaming about looking half starved so I tried to find food for her, but of course, the shops there only had food for people. After my hunting expedition, I went back to where I’d last seen her and she was in the tall grass, playing with bugs. I waited for her natural curiosity to overcome her fear of strangers and petted her for awhile. At least she felt a warm hand on her back while I stroked her soft fur before saying goodbye.

3 thoughts on “Quote for the day…..by Sydney Smith

  1. Reminds me of Mother Teresa’s quote – “Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies.” Your compassion and kindness to the cat speaks volumes about you.

    Like

    1. Thank you Kate, it just killed me that I couldn’t find any food for the kitty. Of course, the three guys I was with didn’t understand why I would even want to help the poor little tyke, they assumed someone must have owned it. But I know what a well fed cat looks like and this little one was boney and had fleas. The guys were more interested in getting ice cream, so I told them to just go on with their tour while I tore around trying to find some milk for the kitty.

      Like

  2. Whoa….awesome web-site and data on this page. The expertly written articles on this blog are really insightful!!!! 🙂 I’ve actually been looking out for up to date articles regarding hcg diet food list, do you have any info on this? Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

