Let’s not put the cart before the horse!


Putting the cart before the horse, makes no sense!

Phrase for the say…let’s not ‘put the cart before the horse’, which means to do things backwards!

It comes from an early work by Cicero (106 BC – 43 BC) On Friendship (translated here): “We put the cart before the horse, and shut the stable door when the steed is stolen, in defiance of the old proverb.”

To read more on this delightful turn of phrase, go to: http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/put-the-cart-before-the-horse.html

6 thoughts on “Let’s not put the cart before the horse!

  1. Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

    Like

  2. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours today, yet I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty value sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you do, the web will probably be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

