Summer is Over for You and I…by Diane Tegarden


Summer is Over for You and I
(C) 07/27/83
by Diane Tegarden

We could have been something,
you and I,
but like star crossed lovers,
we met in a time in our lives
when there wasn’t time,
loved each other
without giving love,
and teased each other with promises
that were just words.

Why, then do I feel so empty inside?
So calm and tired and achingly alone?
I attached myself to you,
when all you wanted was a summer affair.
How could I have been so blind?
Now,
I can see what I have known since we met,
it was never meant to be…………
you and me.

Leave a Reply

