Word for the day….it’s a verb, it’s a noun…it’s both!


Another crossword treasure…..thole

thole pinthole, tholepin (noun)
(Transport / Nautical Terms) a wooden pin or one of a pair, set upright in the gunwales of a rowing boat to serve as a fulcrum in rowing
[from Old English tholl, related to Middle Low German dolle, Norwegian toll, Icelandic thollr]

trick or treaters2thole (verb)
1. to put up with; bear [from Scottish and northern English dialect]
2. an archaic word for suffer
[Old English tholian; related to Old Saxon, Old High German tholōn, Old Norse thola to endure: compare Latin tollere to bear up]
from: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/thole

17 thoughts on “Word for the day….it’s a verb, it’s a noun…it’s both!

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what you’ve got to say. But maybe you could add a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. You’ve got an awful lot of text for only having only 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

  2. My spouse and I Stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now I’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

    Like

  3. Hi! I know this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask. Does building a well-established blog such as yours require a lot of work? I am brand new to blogging however I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    Like

    1. Mallory, if you already write in your diary everyday, you will have plenty of material to hand when you start your blog. Establish a few areas of interest and blog consistently, this will attract a loyal readership to your blog. Have fun and let me know when you start your blog!

      Like

  4. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your posts to be precisely what I’m looking for. Would you let guest writers write content for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome weblog!

    Like

  5. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized its new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

    Like

Leave a Reply

