Of currency and sailing ships…..


Demurrage (noun)- Believe it or not, I found this new word in a junk email!

sailing ship
sailing ship

“The term demurrage originated in vessel chartering and refers to the period when the charterer remains in possession of the vessel after the period normally allowed to load and unload cargo (laytime). By extension, demurrage refers to the charges that the charterer pays to the ship owner for its extra use of the vessel.” (Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demurrage)

bags of moneyAnother reference reported demurrage as:
1. The detention in port of a vessel by the ship owner, as in loading or unloading, beyond the time allowed or agreed upon.
2. The similar undue detention of a railroad car, truck, etc.
3. A charge for such undue detention.

Used since 1640s from: Old French demorage, demourage; see demur

Source cited: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/demurrage

3 thoughts on “Of currency and sailing ships…..

  1. Hey! I know this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask. Does operating a well-established website like yours require a lot of work? I am brand new to running a blog but I do write in my journal daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

