black olives


black olivesI LOVE olives, both green and black olives. But, for health reasons, I eat only organic food, which means I read labels, LOTS of labels. Sometimes I’m not sure what an ingredient in my food is made of, so I look it up.

That’s where I discovered “ferrous gluconate”, our words for today! Ferrous gluconate is a dark black compound used as an iron supplement, and also used to keep black olives a uniform black color.

Source: http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1O39-ferrousgluconate.html

Leave a Reply

