Amethyst- it’s not what you think~


amethyst1My favorite stone is amethyst, and my favorite color is purple, so when I looked up the origin of the word, it surprised me to learn that the stone was once believed to prevent drunkenness!

(I couldn’t make this stuff up….)

 

drunk-man1

the word is broken into two parts…    a= not

and methystos= meaning drunk

 

alcoholic2From: [Middle English amatist, from Old French, from Latin amethystus, from Greek amethustos, not drunk or intoxicating, remedy for intoxication, amethyst : a-, not; see a-1 + methuskein, to intoxicate (from methuein, to be drunk, from methu, wine; see medhu- in the Appendix of Indo-European roots).]

27 thoughts on “Amethyst- it’s not what you think~

  1. Diane,
    Amethyst is also one of my favourite stones. Below is my post for Sunday. Very sorry for the delay, it was just because there was some problem with the computer.

    Australia, which is the world’s largest island and smallest continent is also known as the ‘Land of the Kangaroos’ as these marsupials are mainly found in this continent. It is also said that there are more kangaroos than humans in Australia !!!!!

    Kangaroos are the national symbol of Australia and appear on postage stamps, coins etc. On the Australian coat of arms, the emu and the kangaroo were selected as symbols of Australia to represent the country’s progress, because they always move forwards and never backwards !!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll right away take hold of your rss, as I can’t find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have one? Please allow me to join it in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

    1. Amy, I don’t have a newsletter, but you can subscribe to get the posts on my blog. Love to see a new face here! If there’s anything you like to see as an added subject of conversation, please submit your idea as a comment on one of the posts, and we can chat about it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

