If you think signing a petition doesn’t matter, think again!


thumbs-upI receive information about environmental news from a great website called Daily Kos, here’s an email I recently received about a petition I signed regarding fracking:

Diane, Great news. You recently signed a petition to the EPA to retract their draft report’s conclusion that fracking was safe.

 

 

petition-against-frackingThis petition was part of a coalition effort with many other organizations, and nearly 110,000 people signed on. And the EPA listened. In its just-released final report, the EPA deleted the conclusion that fracking doesn’t have “widespread, systemic impacts” on drinking water. And instead its final report states that fracking can cause water contamination. This is a win for those of us fighting fracking, and for the many people who’ve suffered from water contamination due to fracking. And it’s a loss for the oil and gas industry, which has used the EPA’s draft report to claim that fracking is safe.

 

thumbs-up2Thank you for taking action. Sometimes, it’s hard to know if your petition signature will have an impact. But Daily Kos petitions are often part of larger campaigns, and they help make change happen. Our voices, together, can win campaigns. Thank you for adding your name and joining this fight, and please keep fighting. That will involve signing petitions, protesting in the streets, calling your elected officials, and/or whatever else your activism looks like. We’ll need all of it in the years ahead.

Thank you for all that you do, Mara Schechter, Daily Kos

25 thoughts on “If you think signing a petition doesn’t matter, think again!

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, however I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger, in case you aren’t already. Cheers!

    Like

    1. Thanks Bernadine, that’s very kind of you. Please feel free to leave comments on any the blogs, or suggestions for any topics you are interested in reading about. My fellow bloggers are from around the world and we have a large palette to paint from!

      Like

  2. Great website! I really love how it’s simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m thinking how I could be notified every time a new post has been created. I’ve subscribed to your feed which should do the trick! Have a good day!

    Like

  3. Its as though you can read my mind! You appear to know a lot, like you wrote the guide on it or something. I think that this is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Like

  4. You are so interesting! I have never read through something like this before. So good to find another person with some original thoughts. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that’s needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

    Like

  5. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back soon. I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice day!

    Like

  6. I do agree with all the ideas you have introduced to your post. They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very quick for newbies. May you please prolong them a bit from next time?
    Thank you again for the post.

    Like

  7. I seriously love your blog. Great colors & theme. Did you make this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own personal site and would love to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Thanks!

    Like

  8. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for the wonderful information, I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Like

  9. Admiring the dedication you put into your blog and the detailed information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Fantastic read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  10. That is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and am looking forward to your next great post. Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

