No comments from the “peanut gallery”!


My father has been on my mind lately, he used a lot of colorful expressions, like calling us (my brother, sister and I) “the peanut gallery” when we were in high spirits and acting silly. It came as a mild shock that, in fact, it wasn’t used to describe silliness at all. Here is what I discovered this morning:

peanut-gallery1The “peanut gallery” (noun) means:

  1. The hindmost or uppermost section of seating in a theater balcony, where the seats are cheapest. (2.) In reference to theaters, of the section with the highest, cheapest seats; hence “people who occupy a (theater) gallery” (contrasted with “gentlemen of the pit”) first by Lovelace, 1640s, hence “to play to the gallery”. http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?allowed_in_frame=0&search=peanut+gallery

So, it’s a slight to those people who can’t afford the expensive seats.

peanut-gallery2

  1. A group of people whose opinions are considered unimportant: “Pressure is building … to force … Alan Greenspan to cut interest rates and pump up the money supply. [He] has politely ignored these catcalls from the peanut gallery” (H. Erich Heinemann).

 

 

peanut-gallery3

  1. A source of insignificant criticism: “No remarks from the peanut gallery!”[1885–90, American slang]

Sources: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/peanut+gallery

 

 

5 thoughts on “No comments from the “peanut gallery”!

  1. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue together with your site in web explorer, could test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a huge component to other folks will omit your fantastic writing because of this problem.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone …I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome site!

    Like

  3. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this. In addition, the blog loads super quick for me on Chrome. Exceptional Blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

